Biological Sciences Faculty

Alan Baker

Alan Baker
albaker@unh.edu
Ecology and behavioral biology; limnology and phycology

William H. Howell

William H. Howell
whh@unh.edu
Fisheries biology; ichthyology; aquaculture

Patricia Bedker

Patricia D. Bedker
pdbedker@unh.edu
Education and animal science

Lee Jahnke

Lee S. Jahnke
lsj@unh.edu
Plant physiology and biochemistry; chilling inhibition of photosynthesis at the molecular level

David Berlinsky

David L. Berlinsky
david.berlinsky@unh.edu
Aquaculture; fish physiology; reproduction

Chris Keim

Chris Keim
ckeim@unh.edu
Lecturer -- Contract Faculty Equine Studies

William Berndtson

William E. Berndtson
williamb@unh.edu
Male reproductive physiology; artificial insemination of farm animals; spermatogenesis

Anita Klein

Anita Klein
anita.klein@unh.edu
Molecular population genetics; ecology and evolution of seaweeds

Jessica Bolker

Jessica A. Bolker
jbolker@unh.edu
Development, evolution and their intersection; fish development; philosophy of biology

Brian Krug

Brian Krug
brian.krug@unh.edu

Greenhouse management and floriculture crop production

Elizabeth Boulton

Elizabeth P. Boulton
e.boulton@unh.edu
Equine surgery

Ken LaValley

Ken LaValley
ken.lavalley@unh.edu
Conservation fishing gear technology and seafood safety

Andre Brito

André Brito
andre.brito@unh.edu
Dairy cattle nutrition; protein metabolism in lactating dairy cows; organic dairy systems

J. Brent Loy

J. Brent Loy
brent.loy@unh.edu

Breeding and genetics of cucurbits; genetics and breeding of Cucurbitaceae

Kirk Broders

Kirk D. Broders
kirk.broders@unh.edu
Basic and applied aspect of fungal plant pathogens and how they interact with their hosts and environment

Arthur Mathieson

Arthur C. Mathieson
arthur@unh.edu
Marine botany; phycology; ecology of marine macrophyes (seaweeds)

John Burger

John F. Burger
jfb@unh.edu
Biodiversity of aquatic insects: biosystematics and ecology of haematophagous Diptera

Subhash Minocha

Subhash Minocha
sminocha@unh.edu
Plant molecular biology and genetic engineering; genetic manipulation of plant metabolism; plant physiology; molecular biology of stress in plants; molecular biology of marine algae

Cindy Burke

Cindy Burke
cindy.burke@unh.edu
Director of Therapeutic Riding Program

Gregg Moore

Gregg Moore
gregg.moore@unh.edu
Restoration ecology of temperate and tropical coastal habitats; rare plant species conservation; management of aquatic invasive plants

Donald Chandler

Donald S. Chandler
dsc1@unh.edu
Research on systematics of ant-like litter beetles (Pselaphinae) and ant-like flower beetles (Anthicidae); comparisons of old-growth and managed forests; Curator of the UNH Arthropod Collection

Catherine Neal

Catherine Neal
Cathy.Neal@unh.edu
Ornamental horticulture; nursery production and use of ornamental plants

Erik Chapman

Erik Chapman
erik.chapman@unh.edu
Research and extension toward responsible stewardship of marine resources

Chris Neefus

Chris Neefus
chris.neefus@unh.edu
Biostatistics; marine botany/phycology; ecology and systematics of marine macrophytes; aquaculture of marine algae

Leslie Curren

Leslie J. Curren
leslie.curren@unh.edu
Behavioral ecology with a focus on how evolutionary forces shape social and sexual behavior

Liz Oertel

Liz Oertel
eoertel@unh.edu
Subject Field Trainer

Thomas Davis

Thomas M. Davis
tom.davis@unh.edu
Plant genetics; gene identification/cloning and genome mapping/evolution

Andrew Ogden

Andrew Ogden
andrew.ogden@unh.edu
Sustainable and organic production of fruits and vegetables; controlled environmental agriculture; tropical horticulture; Permaculture

Alan Eaton

Alan Eaton
alan.eaton@unh.edu
Entomology; integrated pest management

Sandra Rehan

Sandra M. Rehan
sandra.rehan@unh.edu
Social behavior, evolution and genetics of bees

Peter Erickson

Peter S. Erickson
peter.erickson@unh.edu
Dairy cattle nutrition; forage utilization; heifer development

Sarah Hamilton Rigg

Sarah Hamilton Rigg
sarah.rigg@unh.edu
Director of Equine Program

Elizabeth Fairchild

Elizabeth Fairchild
elizabeth.fairchild@unh.edu
Stock enhancement; aquaculture; fisheries biology; marine ecology; hatchery reform; estuarine ecology; essential fish habitat; predator-prey interactions

Rebecca Sideman

Rebecca Sideman
Becky.Sideman@unh.edu
Vegetable and small fruit crops; sustainable agriculture; crop improvement and management

Tom Foxall

Thomas L. Foxall
tf@cisunix.unh.edu
Cellular and molecular basis of atherogenesis; role of lipids, gender and exercise on risk factors and pathology of arterial lesions at various stages of development

Cheryl Smith

Cheryl A. Smith
Cheryl.Smith@unh.edu
Plant pathology; plant health

Raymond Grizzle

Raymond E. Grizzle
ray.grizzle@unh.edu
Ecology of faunal benthos; ecology and aquaculture of bivalve molluscs; environmental ethics

Janet Sullivan

Janet R. Sullivan
janets@unh.edu
Systematic botany; Solanaceae; flora of New Hampshire; herbarium curation

Iago Lowe Hale

Iago Lowe Hale
iago.hale@unh.edu
Specialty crop improvement

Robert L. Taylor Robert L. Taylor
bob.taylor@unh.edu
Genetic bases for resistance and immunity to avian diseases

James Haney

James F. Haney
jfhaney@unh.edu
Ecology and management of lakes; lake food webs and biotoxins

Winsor Watson Winsor H. Watson, III
win@unh.edu
The behavior and physiology of marine invertebrates; neural basis of animal behavior; use of telemetry to study the behavior of marine organisms

Larry Harris

Larry G. Harris
lharris@unh.edu
Analysis of predator-prey associations; studies of the impact of invasive species on marine benthic communities; research on the ecology and aquaculture of sea urchins